Kurtág 95

19 February 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Kurtág 95

Joint hommage by the BMC, the Danubia Orchestra Óbuda and the Liszt Academy

Streamed only

György Kurtág: Petite musique solennelle
György Kurtág: … quasi una fantasia …, Op. 27/1
György Kurtág: Double Concerto, Op. 27/2
Szőllősy: Addio per violino principale e 9 archi
Ligeti: Cello Concerto

András Keller (violin), László Fenyő, Miklós Perényi (cello), Gábor Csalog, Dénes Várjon (piano)
Danubia Orchestra Óbuda
Conductor: András Keller

At the heart of the concert marking the birthday of György Kurtág are two concerto-like compositions written around the same time. Kurtág shaped the work entitled …quasi una fantasia… with the performance characteristics of Zoltán Kocsis in mind, and the Double Concerto with Kocsis and Miklós Perényi in mind. The former was penned by Kurtág in 1987–88, the latter in 1989–90. The magical spatial dimension of the Double Concerto evoke 16-17th century Venetian masters and its tonal richness and complexity are remarkable even in terms of the Kurtág oeuvre. The third dedicatee of the two pieces, Péter Eötvös, who directed the premieres of the works as conductor, pointed out the common feature of these two compositions: Kurtág “always mixes the incredibly simple and the very complex, that is, they always alternate; one is shocked by the simplicity of things, and suddenly complex structures appear that I myself, who have often conducted and rehearsed these pieces, still cannot comprehend to this day.” In addition to the Kurtág works, the concert also features one piece each by his two celebrated contemporaries, András Szőllősy and György Ligeti.

Live stream at the website and the Facebook page of the Danubia Orchestra Óbuda, the BMC and the Liszt Academy; at the Youtube channel of the BMC and the Liszt Academy. Further information here.

Presented by

Budapest Music Center, Danubia Orchestra, Liszt Academy Concert Centre