Liszt is to piano playing what Euclid is to geometry.

Alan Walker
Zugló Philharmonics Budapest

2 February 2019, 15.30-17.30

Grand Hall

Zugló Philharmonics Budapest Presented by Liszt Academy

Bartók: Transylvanian Dances, BB 102b
Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2, BB 117


Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Debussy: La Mer

Kristóf Baráti (violin)
Zugló Philharmonics Budapest
Conductor: Péter Dobszay

Béla Bartók’s orchestral piece Transylvanian Dances is the orchestrated version of Sonatina composed for piano in 1915. The composer, who was deeply involved in the collection and systemization of folk music, prepared the orchestrated version himself in 1931. It debuted a year later under the baton of Massimo Freccia. There are two Debussy works after the interlude. Afternoon of a Faun, inspired by a Mallarme poem, was an instant hit and opened new perspectives in symphonic music. Debussy had the following to say about The Sea (‘La Mer’): “The sound of the sea, the outline of a horizon, the wind in the leaves, the cry of a bird; these set off complex impressions in us. And suddenly, without the consent of anyone on this earth, one of these memories bursts forth, expressing itself in the language of music, bearing its harmonies within ...”



Presented by

Zugló Philharmonics


HUF 2 300, 2 500, 2 900