Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt
Danubia Orchestra Óbuda

14 March 2019, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Danubia Orchestra Óbuda Presented by Liszt Academy

Sofia Gubaidulina: Offertorium
Vivaldi: The Four Seasons, Op. 8

Cosima Soulez-Larivière, Antal Zalai (violin)
Danubia Orchestra Óbuda
Conductor: Barnabás Kelemen

“Then slowly I crawled up it. I reached the pinnacle and relaxed. Hot drops of sweat slid slowly down my face. All my muscles were taut as a bowstring, and trembling. I waited till the structure stopped swaying, then, in a deadly silence, I straightened out, opened my robe, and drew out the violin … With a tremulous hand I laid the bow across the strings … now, groping with my foot, I cautiously let go of the pole … bent forward … balanced for a few moments … and, making use of the silence of terror, which tore open the mouths and gripped the hearts in the depths below me, slowly and quiveringly I began to play the melody, which long, long ago had resounded and sobbed in my heart.” Where did this quote come from and what is the connection with the concert programme? Unlike in previous seasons, in their 2018/19 anniversary season the orchestra leave it up to the audience to work out how the concerts are linked.




HUF 2 500, 3 200, 3 800, 4 700