For six years, I received the most significant part of my formal musical education at the Liszt Academy.

Sir Georg Solti
Marcell Szabó Piano Recital

30 March 2019, 19.00-21.00

Solti Hall

Marcell Szabó Piano Recital Presented by Liszt Academy

Russian Stories

Prokofiev: Ten Pieces from Romeo and Juliet, Op. 75


Tchaikovsky–Pletnev: The Nutcracker Suite, Op. 71a
Prokofiev–Nikolajewa: Peter and the Wolf, Op. 67


Marcell Szabó (piano)

Marcell Szabó has been winner or podium-placer in a great many competitions in Hungary and abroad. In 2015 he was selected as the artist of the Liszt Academy Career Office, and each year between 2016 and 2018 he won an Annie Fischer scholarship set up to assist young performance artists. He debuted as soloist at Müpa, Budapest, two years ago with Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2. From beginning to end, this recital, organized as part of the Black and White Colours series, is Russian. Excerpts of the ballet Romeo and Juliet were selected and rearranged by Prokofiev himself in the 1930s. The ‘symphonic fairy tale’ Peter and the Wolf dates from the same period; its transcription for piano a few years later was the work of Tatiana Nikolayeva. The two Prokofiev works bookending the suite contain melodies of the popular ballet by Tchaikovsky that were compiled by pianist Mikhail Pletnev in 1978.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 2 500, 3 200