Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt
The Beginning of the Path – The End of the Path • 4.2

9 April 2019, 19.30-21.00

Solti Hall

Budapest Spring Festival

The Beginning of the Path – The End of the Path • 4.2 Presented by Liszt Academy

Capriccios and Concertinos

R. Strauss: Sextet from the Capriccio
Júlia Pusker, Éva Osztrosits (violin), Péter Tornyai, György Konrád (viola), István Varga, Mátyás Virág (cello)
Ligeti: Two Capriccios
Balázs Demény (piano)
Haydn: Piano Trio No. 35 in A major, Hob. XV:35
Dávid Pintér (violin), György Déri (cello), Júlia Hámos (piano)


Stravinsky: Concertino
Classicus Quartet: József Rácz, Réka Baksai (violin), Péter Tornyai (viola), Tamás Zétényi (cello)
Haydn: Capriccio in G major, Hob. XVII:1
Domonkos Csabay (piano)
R. Strauss: Duett-Concertino
Noémi Sallai (clarinet), Dávid Ádám Nagy (bassoon), József Rácz, Réka Baksai (violin), Dénes Ludmány (viola), Izabella Domokos (cello), Krisztián Andor (piano), Anasztázia Razvaljajeva (harp)

The degree of stylistic difference between an early and a late work from the same composer differs across the ages. But in the case of masters from the 20th century, it often appears almost impossible to discern any relationship between youthful compositions and those from the same composer’s mature period. For instance, even experts struggle mightily to draw parallels between any piece from György Ligeti’s stylistic exercises from his college days, for example, the 1947 Two Capriccios, and his later works. We should remind ourselves that, perhaps surprisingly, Richard Strauss and György Ligeti were contemporaries. At the same time Ligeti was writing his exam pieces for the Academy, Strauss was working on his final orchestral creation, Duet concertino. Besides this late composition, a part from another late period work is also performed at the concert, in the form of the prelude from Capriccio, the final opera written by Strauss.

Presented by

Budapest Spring Festival


HUF 1 900