The point is to increase gradually the level of the understanding, cultivation and practice of musical art. This task falls particularly to the new Academy.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok

2 October 2019, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok Presented by Liszt Academy

Stravinsky: Concerto in E-flat major (‘Dumbarton Oaks’)
Mozart: Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio! – Concert Aria, K. 418
Mozart: The Abduction from the Seraglio – Konstanze's Aria
Strauss: Don Quixote, Op. 35

Erika Miklósa (soprano), Viktória Kusz (viola), Dániel Helecz (cello)
Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok
Conductor: Guido Mancusi

Stravinsky’s Concerto in E-flat major was inscribed Dumbarton Oaks after the estate of the Bliss couple from Washington who commissioned the work for their 30th wedding anniversary. The composer wrote the concerto, deriving from his Neoclassical period, for chamber orchestra; one can clearly sense the inspiration of Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos in it. Mozart’s A major aria beginning Vorrei spiegarvi, oh Dio! was written for his sister-in-law, the extremely talented vocalist Aloysia Weber in Vienna in 1783. The original concept was to insert the piece at the end of the first act of the opera Il curioso indiscreto by Pasquale Antossi. The Konstanze's aria requiring extraordinary technical abilities was written for Catarina Cavalieri, one of the most celebrated singers of her day. The subtitle of Richard Strauss’s Don Quixote is ‘Fantastic Variations on a Theme of Knightly Character, for Orchestra’. The composer selected a classical model and variation structure for the story of the dolorous knight, yet even so he turns everything upside down using extreme modes of expression. In the work, the Don Quixote theme is evoked in the cello solo, and the Sancho Panza motif comes from the bass clarinet, tenor tuba and solo viola.

Presented by

Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok


HUF 3 000, 3 500, 4 000