The least important are not forbidden to dream of great things, and even modestly to aim at them, according to the measure of their abilities.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Dénes Várjon & Chamber Orchestra of Europe

4 February 2020, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Orchestra in the Centre

Dénes Várjon & Chamber Orchestra of Europe Presented by Liszt Academy

J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58


Mozart: Serenade in D major, K. 239 (‘Serenata Notturna’)
Mozart: Concerto for Two Pianos in E-flat major, K. 365

Dénes Várjon, Izabella Simon (piano), Clara Andrada de la Calle (flute)
Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Concertmaster: Lorenza Borrani

Dénes Várjon is considered one of the world’s most brilliant pianists both as soloist and chamber performer. Now the audience can revel in his refined keyboard technique, rich repertoire and incredible stamina all in a single concert. He plays piano concertos by Bach, Beethoven and Mozart with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe founded in 1981; the ensemble has won multiple prizes with their recordings, and its members have been recruited from 15 countries. ‘Concertos for several instruments’ it says at the beginning of the famous series by Bach. Although the violin and flute also receive more modest roles, the Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 is in fact the first keyboard concerto in music history. From certain aspects, Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 is also a first: the first in the genre where at the beginning of the piece the piano precedes the orchestra. The serenade paying tribute to the Baroque, scored for two small orchestras and considered the predecessor of night music is followed by the double piano concerto by Mozart, in which Izabella Simon joins the musicians.



Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


The Chamber Orchestra of Europe is supported by The Gatsby Charitable Foundation 


HUF 4 900, 5 900, 6 900, 7 900