Our task is to form veritable talents who possess the necessary gifts to become masters, without attending to the ungifted mediocrity.

Liszt to Giovanni Sgambati
Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra

28 September 2020, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra

Vivaldi: L’Olimpiade, RV 725 – Overture
J. S. Bach: Ich habe genug – cantata, BWV 82
C. P. E. Bach: Sinfonia in E minor, Wq 178


Mozart: The Marriage of Figaro, K. 492 – Overture
Mozart: “Non più andrai” – Figaro’s aria from the Act 1 of The Marriage of Figaro
Beethoven: “Hat man nicht auch Gold beineben” – Rocco’s aria from the Act 1 of the Fidelio
Mozart: “Madamina! Il catalago è questo” – Leporello’s Catalogue aria from the Act 1 of the Don Giovanni
Mozart: Symphony No. 33 in B-flat major, K. 319

Gábor Bretz (bass)
The Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra (concertmaster: János Pilz, artistic director: Károly Botvay)
Host: Ádám Bősze

One of the very finest pieces in Bach’s unbelievably rich cantata oeuvre is the Ich habe genug solo cantata, which soprano soloists, and more recently countertenors, are delighted to have in their repertoires. The work was originally scored for bass vocal, and at this concert featuring Budapest Strings, our globetrotting bass singer Gábor Bretz performs the work according to the first version written in 1727. Vivaldi’s opera L’Olimpiade dates from just a few years later and the symphony in E minor of C. P. E. Bach was created six years after the death of his father. Adolf Hasse, one of the greatest musical authorities at the time, said of the three-movement work that he had never heard anything better. In all likelihood, Hasse attended a string orchestral recital of the work, the Budapest Strings concert plays it supplemented with wind instruments. In the second half of the concert, Gábor Bretz portrays three very different operatic figures, and it is not impossible that a fourth will make an appearance…

Presented by

Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra


HUF 2 800, 3 800, 4 800, 5 800