Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

3 November 2020, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Mozart: Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201
Mozart: Concerto for Flute and Harp in C major, K. 299
Mozart: Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Fruzsina Varga (flute), Klára Bábel (harp)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Choir (choirmaster: Zoltán Pad)
Conductor: Tamás Vásáry

Even in the most cheerful, most harmonic of Mozart’s music there is nearly always, somewhere in it, a darker side, a passing evil spirit, a more dour and dramatic musical gesture. It says a lot that even in his very earliest works there were regular flashes into the deepest depths of the soul, as though the master was flirting with a sense of danger. On the other hand, the ‘Great’ G minor symphony and Requiem do not merely glimpse into the shrouded regions of the soul, they actually take a tour there. No surprise then to find just how much the post-Mozart Romantic age thrilled to these ‘spine-tingling travelogues’.

Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups


HUF 3 500, 5 000, 7 000, 8 000