Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt
Jiyeong Mun & László Fenyő

5 March 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Chamber Music, Tuned for Grand Hall

Jiyeong Mun & László Fenyő Presented by Liszt Academy

Streamed only

Brahms: C minor scherzo („Sonatensatz”)
Brahms: Sonata for Cello and Piano No. 1 in E minor, Op. 38


R. Strauss: Sonata for Cello and Piano in F major, Op. 6

László Fenyő (cello), Jiyeong Mun (piano)

The marvellous thing about chamber music is that one never knows what will be created on stage, even in the case of such well-known repertoire pieces as the cello-piano sonatas of Brahms and Richard Strauss. The interaction of these two internationally renowned musicians promises a never-to-be-repeated, ‘here and now’ experience. Both are dedicated to chamber music and sensitive to all its vibrations. Jiyeong Mun is a simply extraordinary talent: a few years ago, the South Korean artist won two top competitions, the Geneva Competition and the Busoni Competition, back to back. It is sufficient to hear just a few bars of any of her recordings to know that one is in the presence of art characterized by refined taste, moderation and naturalness. The art of László Fenyő is similarly accompanied by breathtaking technique and unpretentiousness; the Hungarian left the world of competitions a long time ago and has by now built himself a significant solo career, he has appeared at the very best concert venues in Europe and overseas, and has given numerous massively successful concerts with the greatest orchestras.

Stream free of charge at the website, Facebook page and Youtube channel of the Liszt Academy.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


This concert was supported, in line with the Government decree 1290/ 2020. (VI.5) related to cultural institutions, in order to ease the economic difficulties caused by the Covid19 pandemic.