Liszt is to piano playing what Euclid is to geometry.

Alan Walker
Alban Berg Ensemble

11 March 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Music of the 20th-21st centuries

Alban Berg Ensemble Presented by Liszt Academy


Mahler: Piano Quartet in A minor
Schönberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1, Op. 9


Mahler: Symphony No. 10 – 1. Adagio (transcription by Martyn Harry)

Alban Berg Ensemble: Sebastian Guertler, Régis Bringolf (violin), Subin Lee (viola), Florian Berner (cello), Silvia Careddu (flute), Alexander Neubauer (clarinet), Ariane Haering (piano)

The recently established, multinational Alban Berg Ensemble is made up of superb soloists capable of tackling performances demanding a wide variety of instruments. In their choice of name, however, they are predestined to perform primarily Viennese Modernist works. This they do with Arnold Schönberg’s work dating from 1906, which, however, represents the composer’s early output. With his post-Romantic works written around this time, Schönberg also won the admiration of the other composer of the recital, Gustav Mahler, also from Vienna. The Chamber Symphony, written for an unconventional instrumental line-up, is bookended by Mahler’s oeuvre: the Piano Quartet in A minor  was the author’s first composition, and the symphony movement performed after the intermission his final work. The first movement of Mahler’s monumental Symphony No. 10, planned for five movements, which was left in a form that is generally considered to be final, is performed in an arrangement by English composer Martyn Harry. The Adagio, which conveys his unmistakable personal pain and bitterness, had already resonated with his contemporaries, with Alban Berg himself dealing with the manuscript of the symphony.

Dear Audience,

Due to the deterioriating pandemic situation, the management of the Liszt Academy has decided not to hold live broadcast concerts between 8 and 24 March.

Thank you for your understanding!

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre