Technique should create itself from spirit not from mechanics.

Franz Liszt to Lina Raman
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

29 March 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra


Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 27
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Yu-Chien Benny Cheng (violin)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Delyana Lazarova

Recently the young Bulgarian conductor Delyana Lazarova has come under increasing international scrutiny thanks to her passionate performance style and dynamic presence. In 2019 she came first at the Tirana International Conducting Competition and in the same year she was awarded the James Conlon Conductor Prize at the prestigious Aspen Music Festival. In 2020 she won the Siemens-Hallé International Conductors Competition. She picked up the Bruno Walter Conducting Scholarship from the Cabrillo Festival, California, in both 2017 and 2018. She has appeared as guest conductor all over Europe and currently she is doing a masters at the Zürich University of the Arts under the direction of Prof. Johannes Schlaefli. Her soloist partner is the brilliant Taiwanese violinist Yu-Chien Benny Cheng, who was not long ago guest of the Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra in a recital of Beethoven’s Violin Concerto.



Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups