The point is to increase gradually the level of the understanding, cultivation and practice of musical art. This task falls particularly to the new Academy.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Oxalys Ensemble

30 March 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Music of the 20th-21st Centuries

Oxalys Ensemble Presented by Liszt Academy

Unknown Scandinavia


Alfvén: Petite Suite (Little Suite)
Nielsen: At the Bier of a Young Artist
Kalevi Aho: Flute Quintet


Gade: String Quartet in E minor, Op. 8
Sibelius: En saga (Tale) – symphonic poem, Op. 9

Oxalys Ensemble: Shirly Laub, Frédéric d’Ursel (violin), Elisabeth Smalt, Paul De Clerck (viola), Amy Norrington (cello), Koenraad Hofman (double bass), Toon Fret (flute), Nathalie Lefèvre (clarinet)

The world of Belle Époque (1870‒1930) lies at the centre of interest of this Belgian chamber ensemble established in 1993. From the perspective of this period with its own particular outlook, the works of the classical masters are looked back on, or ahead to the compositions of modern artists. Oxalys consider it their duty to perform the vocal music of their chosen age as well, thus they work together with famous singers. Their programme Unknown Scandinavia features works by northern masters including pieces that have been rescued from near obscurity. Local audiences are generally not familiar with the names of Swede Hugo Alfvén or the prolific contemporary Finnish master Kalevi Aho, although some works by Dane Niels Gade and Carl Nielsen do feature more frequently. The composition by the latter has a remarkable backstory. Originally the work was written in memory of a painter who died tragically early, and at that time (1910) Nielsen certainly never thought that in 1931 it would be the very same work that would be performed at his own funeral.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre