Our task is to form veritable talents who possess the necessary gifts to become masters, without attending to the ungifted mediocrity.

Liszt to Giovanni Sgambati
Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra

19 April 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra


R. Strauss: Sextet from the Capriccio
Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto in A minor


Storytelling by András Berecz
Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 9 in C major

András Berecz (storyteller), Mihály Berecz (piano)
Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra

Richard Strauss, the inimitable master of enigmatic genre designations, called his last opera, Capriccio, a conversation piece for music and elsewhere a theatrical fugue. Nor is the opening scene conventional: string sextet chamber music evoking the elegance and charm of the Rococo period. The youthful Mendelssohn similarly plays with the stylistic traits of earlier periods. In the string symphony in C major written more than a hundred years earlier than Capriccio, and in the large-scale A minor piano concerto written at the age of fourteen, we hear the experimental voice of the early classics. This concerto, which although truly beautiful is rarely heard in concert halls, is performed with solo by Mihály Berecz; it remains a secret as to what story his father, András Berecz, is going to relate.



Presented by

The Budapest Strings Foundation