My friends are those who haunt the Ideal; there, dear friend, we 'recognize' each other, and shall always do so…

Liszt to Ödön Mihalovich
Orsolya Korcsolán & Apolka Bonnyai

2 December 2021, 19.00-21.00

Solti Hall

Orsolya Korcsolán & Apolka Bonnyai

Golden Age

Goldmark: Suite No. 1 in E major, Op. 11


Liszt: Liebesträume
Goldmark: Romance in A major, Op. 51
Liszt: Années de pèlerinage, Première année: Suisse – 9. Les cloches de Genève
R. Goldmark: Four Pieces for Violin – 2. Plaintive Air
Liszt: Two Concert Études – 1. Waldesrauschen 
Korngold: Much Ado About Nothing – suite from the incidental music for violin and piano, Op. 11

Orsolya Korcsolán (violin), Apolka Bonnyai (piano)

Violinist Orsolya Korcsolán and pianist Apolka Bonnyai take to the stage with a special programme at this Jewish Art Days concert. Károly Goldmark was perhaps the most defining composer of the turn of the 19th century, and the most performed composer at the Vienna Opera House. His work sits at the crossroads of Romanticism and Modernism, the meeting point of Classicist forms and new ideas. In Pest, Ferenc Liszt hosted him and, as a sign of his respect and esteem, played the Suite in E major with one of the greatest Hungarian violinists of the age, Nándor Plotényi. The careers of several innovative artists were launched at the suggestion of Goldmark, among them the wunderkind Erich Wolfgang Korngold, who later went on to establish the inimitable Hollywood film music genre and won the first Oscar ever awarded to a composer. Goldmark also took his nephew Rubin, born in New York and who had already created works in the New World, under his wing; he went on to teach several famous composers including Aaron Copland and George Gershwin. The works on display in Solti Hall poignantly evoke this diverse Golden Age.

Presented by

Jewish Art Days Festival


HUF 2 900