The two Hungarians not only played music, they were themselves the music – in every nerve – down to their fingertips.

Adelheid von Schorn on Reményi and Liszt
Concerto Budapest

12 December 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Concerto Budapest

Advent Concert

Beethoven: Septet in E-flat major, Op. 20
Schubert: String Quintet, D. 956

Keller Quartet: András Keller, Zsófia Környei (violin), Gábor Homoki (viola), László Fenyő (cello)
Csaba Klenyán (clarinet), Bálint Tóth (horn), Bálint Mohai (bassoon), Ákos Takács (cello), Vilmos Buza (double bass)

‘A septet for 4 strings and 3 wind instruments humbly dedicated to His Imperial Highness and composed by Ludwig van Beethoven.’ This is how the opus 20 was advertised for 2 April 1800, in the Burgtheater in Vienna, which is where the first ‘great musical academy’ in Beethoven’s career was arranged. The Septet in E-flat major dedicated to the Italian-born Maria Theresa, second wife of Emperor Francis, soon found general recognition, both among the general public and musicians, even though the composer himself morosely declared that he couldn’t bear it and was annoyed by its success. The second part of the concert will delight the audience with a valedictory, comprehensive chamber music piece – String Quintet in C major, using two cellos – written in by Franz Schubert in the final year of his life, 1828. No less an authority than György Kurtág himself had the following to say about this composition and its sublime Adagio movement: ‘My ideal of beauty is the slow movement of Schubert’s String Quintet. My ideal of beauty is that something is beautiful.’ Tonight, both works will be performed by the Keller Quartet, completed by the soloists of Concerto Budapest.


Presented by

Concerto Budapest


HUF 2 500, 3 500, 4 500