I am not exaggerating when I say that, whatever I achieved as a musician, I owe more to Leó Weiner than to anyone else. ... To me, he remains an outstanding example of what a musician should be.

Sir Georg Solti
Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra

28 December 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra

Mozart: Symphony No. 4 in D major, K. 19
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major, K. 488


Brahms: String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111

Gábor Farkas (piano)
The Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra (concertmaster: János Pilz, artistic director: Károly Botvay)

It is a tradition now for Budapest Strings Chamber Orchestra to arrange this celebratory, and end-of-year, concert on the birthday of their founder, Károly Botvay. This year, the glitter of the occasion is enhanced with the solo of pianist Gábor Farkas. We start with two Mozart pieces, the birth dates of which are separated by two decades but they both brought success and renown into the short life of the composer. The D major symphony flowed from the pen of the mere nine-year-old Mozart when he was in London. The 29-year-old composer of the F major concerto was by then resident in Vienna and striving to make a livelihood as an independent composer. At that time the piano concerto was his principal genre and these works – with Mozart himself seated at the piano – were hugely successful. Brahms, who at 57 was preparing to retire, intended the G major string quintet to be his adieu. Not only does it contain an element of sad farewell, but one can also discern the composer’s good cheer and energy in it.

Presented by

The Budapest Strings Foundation


HUF 2 800, 3 800, 4 800, 5 800