Please allow me that, apart from my regrettable ignorance of the Hungarian language, I remain Magyar in my heart and soul from birth to the grave. As a consequence, I earnestly wish to further the progress of Hungarian music.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
MÁV Symphony Orchestra

13 January 2022, 19.00-21.30

Grand Hall

MÁV Symphony Orchestra

Performer change

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
Bartók: Suite No. 2, BB 40

Sergei Babayan (piano)
MÁV Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Róbert Farkas

“Sergei Babayan has a deep connection to the music of Rachmaninov... Instead of wild ecstasy, he makes the music transparent. He separates the layers of Rachmaninov’s music, revealing the imperceptible, tiny forms in the abundance of the music... His dynamic scale is basically endless” - this is how critics praise the playing of our soloist. The Piano Concerto No. 3 of Rachmaninov debuted in 1909 and was composed soon after the famous No. 2, partly as its continuation yet technically even more difficult. Suite No. 2 of Bartók debuted the same year. This opus was Bartók’s first orchestral work after his extensive folksong collecting trip, which had such an elemental effect on him. Exploring folk music that preserves ancient traditions opened up a whole new world for the composer. Suite No. 2 contains elements that became characteristic of his later great works.

Presented by

MÁV Symphony Orchestra


HUF 4 500, 5 000, 5 500