Please allow me that, apart from my regrettable ignorance of the Hungarian language, I remain Magyar in my heart and soul from birth to the grave. As a consequence, I earnestly wish to further the progress of Hungarian music.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

14 January 2022, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Brahms Series of Tamás Vásáry/2

Performer change

Brahms: Double Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102


Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Júlia Pusker (violin), Ildikó Szabó (cello)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Tamás Vásáry

Brahms’s last symphonic work, the A minor double concerto, is a heart-warming ode to a great friendship interspersed with highs and lows. Perhaps the first thing to come to mind in the dialogue of violin and cello is that of two ageing men, the composer and the violinist József Joachim. For this recital, however, two young women artists, Júlia Pusker and Dóra Kokas, approach the dialogue-character of Brahms’s music from a different angle.

In the second half it is the turn of the master’s second symphony, which Brahms himself conducted at a concert in Pest in 1879. An article from the period stated of Brahms that “he now appears for the first time in the company of our philharmonic orchestra. He is often called the modern Bach, the heir of Schumann and Beethoven. We can agree with those who assert that such a symphony has not been written since Beethoven.”

Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups


HUF 3 500, 5 000, 7 000, 8 000