Our task is to form veritable talents who possess the necessary gifts to become masters, without attending to the ungifted mediocrity.

Liszt to Giovanni Sgambati
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

14 February 2022, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Brahms Series of Tamás Vásáry/3

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat major, Op. 83
Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Ádám Balogh (piano)
Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Tamás Vásáry

Brahms loved Hungarian music and respected the Hungarians, and he was happy to hold concerts in Budapest. On one such trip in 1881, an entire concert was dedicated to his works; the performance of the second piano concerto with solo by the composer was actually the world premiere of the piece. If one can believe press reports of the time, Brahms played the principal part abounding in difficulties with tremendous technique and astonishing virtuosity. The recital by Tamás Vásáry and Ádám Balogh is partly a recreation of this concert because it is a good 140 years since the first symphony of Brahms was also played. One critic was so enthused by the composition that he wrote “if the composer had never written any other symphony than this sublime piece, still it would have been a fitting tribute to him.”



Presented by

Hungarian Radio Art Groups


HUF 3 500, 5 000, 7 000, 8 000