Technique should create itself from spirit not from mechanics.

Franz Liszt to Lina Raman
MÁV Symphony Orchestra

25 February 2022, 19.00-21.30

Grand Hall

MÁV Symphony Orchestra

Kodály: Variations on a Hungarian Folksong “The Peacock”
Kodály: Háry János – suite, Op. 15a
Bartók–Serly: Viola Concerto, BB 128
Kodály: Dances of Galánta

Pinchas Zukerman (viola)
MÁV Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Gábor Takács-Nagy

For 25 March 2021, MÁV Symphony Orchestra prepared a festive concert marking the 140th anniversary of Béla Bartók’s birth. The concert would have been even more festive with the performance of the world-famous violinist and violist, Pinchas Zukerman. It was his idea to prepare a special ‘birthday gift’: the Viola Concerto was written during the composer’s emigration to the United States, but due to illness he was unable to finish it. The concerto was completed by a friend of the composer, Tibor Serly, based on Bartók’s personal notes and instructions. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this concert was cancelled in 2021, but we are delighted to announce that Pinchas Zukerman is in Budapest in February 2022, and hopefully this time there won’t be any obstacles to holding this special concert.

Presented by

MÁV Symphony Orchestra


HUF 3 900, 4 900, 5 900, 7 900, 9 900