Please allow me that, apart from my regrettable ignorance of the Hungarian language, I remain Magyar in my heart and soul from birth to the grave. As a consequence, I earnestly wish to further the progress of Hungarian music.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
MÁV Symphony Orchestra

1 April 2022, 19.00-21.30

Grand Hall

MÁV Symphony Orchestra

Haydn: The Seven Last Words of Our Saviour on the Cross, Hob. XX:2

Katalin Szutrély (soprano), Atala Schöck (alto), Márton Komáromi (tenor), Zoltán Melkovics (bass)
Purcell Choir (choirmaster: György Vashegyi)
MÁV Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: György Vashegyi

In 1785, Haydn received a commission from the city of Cadiz to compose an orchestral work. During the services of Holy Week, the seven sayings of Jesus were read out loud, followed by a few moments of silent prayer. Haydn had to compose instrumental music for the time of the seven silent, meditative sections. Later he adapted the original string orchestral piece to string quartet and piano. A few years later, he composed yet another version, an oratorio: vocals for the previous instrumental movements, for four soloists and four-part mixed choir. According to the Gospels, after the crucifixion of Christ an earthquake shook the earth. Therefore, Haydn composed an orchestral movement for the end of the piece, the Earthquake. Following years of absence, we are delighted to welcome conductor György Vashegyi back on stage.

Presented by

MÁV Symphony Orchestra


HUF 4 500, 5 000, 5 500