Marcell Dénes-Worowski & Altalena Ensemble

10 May 2022, 19.00-21.00

Solti Hall

Chamber Music, So Close Spring 2022

Marcell Dénes-Worowski & Altalena Ensemble Presented by Liszt Academy

J. S. Bach: Concerto for Two Pianos in C minor, BWV 1060
J. S. Bach: Concerto for Two Pianos in C major, BWV 1061


Balázs Kecskés D.: Blue (version for string orchestra)
Stravinsky: Apollon Musagète

Mihály Berecz, Fülöp Ránki, Alexandra Balog, András Moldoványi (piano)
János Mátyás Stark, Eriko Nagayama, Barbara Tóth, Csongor Korossy-Khayll, Eszter Vitályos-Gaál, Gábor Németh, Sibil Veress, András Vavrinecz, Márton Sárréti, Éva Kóbor, Julianna Gaál (violin), Péter Bor, Bence Vitályos, Kata Koppán (viola), Gergely Devich, Réka Adorjáni, Rebeka Bettermann (cello), Csongor Jobbágy (double bass)
Conductor: Marcell Dénes-Worowski

Altalena – Italian for see-saw or swing. The name of the ensemble led by pianists Alexandra Balog and Mihály Berecz, founded in 2014 and made up of young musicians, refers to the internal harmonics that balance each other out when playing together, furthermore, to the establishment of an equilibrium between tradition and new classical music pathways. The opening work is by Balázs Kecskés D., who is in his late twenties; it draws its inspiration from the ‘Gesamtkunstwerk’ associations related to the colour and the word ‘blue’. The closing number is a characteristic piece of Stravinsky’s neo-Classical period. Sandwiched between these two string orchestral works are rarely performed double concertos by Bach with input from young soloists of the chamber orchestra under the baton of the massively gifted artist of the young conductor generation.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


Liszt Academy Foundation


HUF 2 900, 3 900

Concert series:

Chamber Music, So Close Spring 2022