Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt

15 February 2024, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall


Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra

La Passione

Haydn: Symphony No. 49 in F minor, Hob. I:49 (‘La passione’)
Haydn: Oboe Concerto in C major, Hob. VIIg:C1


Mozart: Serenade in C minor, K. 388
François Leleux, Ágnes Kubina (oboe), Zsolt Szatmári, György Salamon (clarinet), Andrea Horváth, Edina Szalai (bassoon), László Gál, Ferenc Farkas (horn), Péter Kubina (double bass)
Mozart: Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504 (‘Prague’)

Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor and featuring on oboe: François Leleux

The outstanding French oboist and conductor François Leleux is a frequent guest of the Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra. Audiences always receive the versatility of this great musician with rapturous acclaim, enjoying the opportunity during his appearances to see him conduct the orchesta, but also joyfully lose themselves in the beauty of his virtuoso, elegant wind instrument play. Between two symphonies, the programme of the Hadyn–Mozart concert for the Ferencsik season ticket not only features Hadyn’s Oboe Concerto in C major, but also a Mozart serenade written for strings in its entirety. The performance of the piece could hardly be led by a more suitable musician than this superb oboist and conductor.

The concert will be framed through the performance of one Hadyn and one Mozart symphony. The Symphony in F minor (Hob. I:49) was composed in 1768, during Hadyn’s Sturm und Drang period. Its title, La passione, references Easter and was only added decades after its conception when it was performed in 1790 during the Holy Week in the city of Schwerin. Mozart wrote Symphony No. 38 in D major (“Prague”) (K. 504) in 1786. It was premiered on 19 January in Prague, one day after a performance of Le nozze di Figaro in the town. The two works to be performed in the central part of the programme, the oboe concerto and the serenade, provide a delightful opportunity for us to immerse ourselves in the gentle sounds of the wind instruments and marvel at their dextrous melodies.

Presented by

Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra


HUF 3 900, 4 900, 5 900, 6 900