Gábor Takács-Nagy & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra

7 May 2024, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Masters of the Orchestra

Gábor Takács-Nagy & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra Presented by Liszt Academy

Beethoven IX. 200

Performer change

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125

Adrienn Miksch (soprano), Andrea Meláth (alto), Lucian Corchis (tenor), István Kovács (bass)
Hungarian National Choir (choirmaster: Csaba Somos)
Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Gábor Takács-Nagy

Beethoven completed his Symphony No. 9 in 1824, so the work turns two hundred years old in 2024. It is one of the most significant compositions by Beethoven and the culmination of his life’s work as well as one of the most well-known pieces of European classical music. For the first time in Western music history, a symphony – originally an instrumental genre – includes a vocal part: Beethoven set to music Friedrich Schiller’s “Ode to Joy” in its final movement, thus adding a choir and vocal soloists to the symphonic orchestra. The work proclaims the ideals of brotherhood and the unity of humanity, thus becoming a symbol of peace and freedom. Over the past two centuries, it has been performed at numerous significant historical moments, including the demolition of the Berlin Wall. This time, it will be performed by the latest generation of musicians with Kossuth Prize-winner conductor and violinist Gábor Takács-Nagy.


Please note that due to illness Polina Pasztircsák will be replaced by Adrienn Miksch as soprano soloist.

Buy tickets for the concerts organized by the Liszt Academy at the same time and we will give you
  • 10% discount for 2 concerts,
  • 15% discount for 3 concerts,
  • 20% discount for 4 or more concerts.


Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 4 900, 6 200, 7 500, 8 900

Concert series:

Masters of the Orchestra

Other events in the concert series: