The least important are not forbidden to dream of great things, and even modestly to aim at them, according to the measure of their abilities.

Liszt to Antal Augusz
Péter Kováts & Joint String Orchestra of Seven European Music Universities

31 October 2024, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Workshops of the Liszt Academy

Péter Kováts & Joint String Orchestra of Seven European Music Universities Presented by Liszt Academy

Schubert: Overture in C minor, D. 8
Mozart: Adagio and Fugue in C minor, K. 546
Respighi: Antik táncok és dalok – 3. Suite


Bartók: Divertimento, BB 118
Bartók: Romanian Folk Dances, BB 76

Joint String Orchestra of Seven European Music Universities
Conductor: Péter Kováts

As part of the European Union’s Erasmus+ programme, the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music has launched an international cooperation project in which 3 students from each of six leading European universities – Barcelona, Vienna, The Hague, Helsinki, Oslo and Paris – will come to Budapest to participate in an intensive workshop with students from the Liszt Academy under the guidance of Péter Kováts. The first half of the final concert will feature an overture composed by Schubert in his childhood and the mature Mozart’s two-movement composition, followed by the neoclassicist Respighi’s dances transcribed from Renaissance and Baroque melodies. The Bartók works in the second half of the programme will be a first encounter for most of the students, and will provide them with an excellent opportunity to get to know the Hungarian composer’s works that form the basis of the string orchestra repertoire.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


Admission to the concert is free. Tickets can be claimed at the website and at the Ticket Office of the Liszt Academy one month before the concert.

Concert series:

Workshops at the Liszt Academy

Other events in the concert series:

2024. 12. 2
Workshops of the Liszt Academy

Password: Passion

Concert by Music and Visual Arts Students/1

Solti Hall

Free tickets needed