Liszt is to piano playing what Euclid is to geometry.

Alan Walker
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra

9 May 2024, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall


Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra


Haydn: Symphony No. 88 in G major, Hob. I:88
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467


Haydn: Il ritorno di Tobia, Hob. XXI:1 » Overture
Mozart: Symphony No. 41 in C major, K. 551 ('Jupiter')

Petra Somlai (fortepiano)
Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: György Vashegyi

At the concerts scheduled for the Ferencsik season ticket, the Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra will take the stage in smaller numbers, in keeping with the style of Viennese Classicism. The final night on the programme will add another exciting moment when we hear the Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467, played on the pre-modern fortepiano. Serving as the soloist will be one of Hungary’s finest virtuosos of the instrument, Petra Somlai, who will play alongside conductor György Vashegyi in a programme framed by two late symphonies by Haydn and Mozart.

Haydn completed his Symphony No. 88 in G major in 1787, the year before Mozart wrote the final piece of his symphonic output, the legendary ‘Jupiter’ Symphony No. 41 in C major. The audience will thus get to hear one of each of the two composers’ most mature symphonic works on a single evening, one at the beginning of the concert and the the other at the end. The Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, written in 1785, is a magnificent example of Mozart’s mature Viennese concerto style and is reminiscent of the style of Michael Haydn in its finale. The interesting thing about the overture to Joseph Haydn’s Il ritorno di Tobia is the fact that it introduces the composer’s still rarely heard early oratorio.

Presented by

Hungarian National Philharmonic Orchestra


HUF 3 900, 4 900, 5 900, 6 900