Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok

1 May 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok

Streamed only

Ravel: William Tell - overture
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 (‘Pathétique’)

Zoltán Fejérvári (piano)
Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok
Conductor: Kristóf Baráti

Ravel planned to debut his Piano Concerto in G major himself but the plan had to be scrapped due to the overly complicated technical demands of the piece. Marguerite Long took the solo part at the premiere in January 1932. The two artists then set off on a tour of Central Europe, and thus the piano concerto was performed in the Vigadó, Budapest on 18 April. The concert closes with one of the last compositions from the hand of Tchaikovsky. The premiere of Symphony No. 6 took place on 28 October 1893, a mere nine days before the composer’s death. At the time the work did not generate much attention in St. Petersburg, winning only lukewarm praise. However, just a few days later, on the day that Tchaikovsky died, people began to whisper that the composer had written his own death in the symphony, which is why he had never talked about the programme of the work.    


Stream free of charge at the Youtube channel of Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok, and at the website, Youtube and Facebook channel of the Liszt Academy. Further information here.

Presented by

Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok