Ferenc Liszt, master of transcriptions

3 October 2021, 11.00-12.00

Old Academy of Music, Chamber Hall

1st Carpathian Basin Festival

Ferenc Liszt, master of transcriptions

Musicology lecture and Ferenc Liszt Memorial Concert

Liszt: Années de pèlerinage, Deuxième année: Italie – Sonetto 123 del Petrarca
Wagner–Liszt: Isolde’s Love Death from the Tristan und Isolde
Schumann–Liszt: Liebeslied (Widmung)
Liszt – János Balázs: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6
Puccini – János Balázs: Lauretta’s aria from the opera Gianni Schicchi
Ponce – János Balázs: Estrellita
J. Strauss II – Cziffra – János Balázs: Reminiscences

Artistic director: Apolka Bonnyai
Kálmán Dráfi, János Balázs (piano)
Lecture hold by Mária Eckhardt (musicologist)

Artists in this concert commemorating Ferenc Liszt who was born 210 years ago are two professors of the Liszt Academy and at the same time its former students. Both are faithful defenders of the Liszt tradition that has been continued for several generations. Their programme comprises transcriptions. A significant part of Liszt’s oeuvre is made up of piano transcriptions, in which the composer-piano virtuoso wanted to reproduce the original work on his own instrument as faithfully as possible, although for the most part he shaped it in his own image, as though ‘transubstantiating’ the foundational musical material mainly taken from other composers. Mária Eckhardt, Széchenyi Prize musicologist, gives a lecture on the concert.



Presented by

Kárpát-medencei Komolyzenei Fesztivál


Minister of Human Capacities 


HUF 3 000