Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok

24 November 2021, 19.30-22.00

Grand Hall

Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok

Haydn: Symphony No. 82 in C major, Hob. I:82 (‘The Bear’)
Ákos Zarándy: Rákóczi-concerto
Mozart: Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504 (‘Prague’)

Marcell Horváth (Turkish pipe)
Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok
Conductor: Péter Halász

This concert gives us a classical programme under the baton of Péter Halász. Haydn’s ‘Bear’ symphony is one of six Parisian symphonies the composer wrote at the request of Concert de la Loge Olympique in 1786. The sobriquet did not come from Haydn, instead it was appended by posterity on the basis of the drone of bass-bagpipes in the closing movement. Ákos Zarándy is an outstanding representative of the young composer generation. His Rákóczi Concerto is a modern work and yet it faithfully reflects the atmosphere of the Rákóczi age, sometimes amusingly, sometimes spiced with a pinch of nostalgia. A remarkable moment in the work is the solo duet of tárogató and cimbalom. The concert closes with Mozart’s ‘Prague’ symphony.



Presented by

Dohnányi Orchestra Budafok


HUF 3 000, 3 500, 4 000