The two Hungarians not only played music, they were themselves the music – in every nerve – down to their fingertips.

Adelheid von Schorn on Reményi and Liszt
Schubert Trios/4

16 March 2022, 19.00-21.00

Solti Hall

Complete Works Live

Schubert Trios/4 Presented by Liszt Academy

Vilmos Szabadi, Camille Thomas & Gábor Farkas

Schubert: Piano Trio No. 2 in E-flat major, D. 929


Schubert: Ständchen, D. 920 (transcription for Cello and Piano)
Schubert: Auf dem Wasser zu singen (To sing on the water), D. 774 (transcription for Cello and Pian)
Schubert: Sonata for Cello and Piano in A minor, D. 821 (‘Arpeggione’)
Schubert: Adagio and Rondo Concertante in F major, D. 487

Vilmos Szabadi (violin), Camille Thomas (cello), Gábor Farkas (piano)
Featuring: Wenting Kang (viola)

Several most noteworthy compositions for chamber orchestra flowed from the fingertips of Schubert in the year 1816. Together with the first violin-piano sonatas, he completed two rondo concertantes, one being the F major piano quartet (D. 487). None appeared in print during the lifetime of the composer, but this was not due to the supposed long neglect of Schubert but rather the composer's youth. There again, Haydn’s one-time publisher, the distinguished Artaria, promptly published the H minor (D. 895) rondo written a decade later. The grandiose trio in E-flat major (D. 929), which condenses all the impressive traits of the composer’s passionately nostalgic, beautiful romantic style, was published in Probst in 1828, proving that Schubert, who tragically died just a few weeks later, stood on the threshold of a fantastically promising career. However, the sonata composed originally for the arpeggione in 1824 only appeared in print decades after the author’s death, in 1871. Camille Thomas performs this work on cello.


Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 2 900, 3 900